PREVIEW: Chiefs v Lions

Getty Images

Friday, March 4, 2016    Getty Images

ROUND TWO: Chiefs v Lions, 5.15pm, Saturday 5 March, Waikato Stadium


The last time these two teams faced in the second round, an amazing 137 points were scored in the highest scoring match in Super Rugby history. The Chiefs prevailed 72-65 on that day and boast seven wins and just two losses against the Lions.

Undoubtedly one of the stars of round one with his fast hands, courageous tackling, classy line breaking and accurate goal kicking, Damian McKenzie will be looking to repeat the performance at home. Already tipped for All Blacks honours in the future, McKenzie will face a different challenge from the battle hardened Lions side. The 5’9, 81 kilogram fullback will be tested against one of the most physical sides in the competition.

Last week the Lions dispatched competition newcomers the Sunwolves in front of 25,000 in Tokyo. It’s a long way from Japan to New Zealand but the Lions have made a habit of winning away from home recently. The Johannesburg-based side has won their last three matches away from home and will be desperate to keep that winning streak alive in Hamilton.

Once touted as the quickest player in the NRL, former Warrior Glen Fisiiahi has been named on the Chiefs bench for the first time. With the stage set for running rugby, expect the speedster to make a splash should he make his Super Rugby debut against the Lions.

The forecast is for sunshine and plenty of tries at Waikato Stadium this Saturday. The 5.15pm kick-off ensures that the entire match will be played in daylight and a maximum temperature of 25 degrees provides the perfect platform for an expansive game. Get your tickets and experience the action LIVE. Click HERE for ticketing information.


CHIEFS: 15: Damian McKenzie 14: Latu Vaeno 13: Seta Tamanivalu 12: Charlie Ngatai 11: James Lowe 10: Aaron Cruden 9: Tawera Kerr-barlow 8: Maama Vaipulu 7: Sam Cane (co-cap) 6: Tom Sanders 5: Brodie Retallick 4: Michael Allardice 3: Hiroshi Yamashita 2: Rhys Marshall 1: Pauliasi Manu

Reserves: Nathan Harris, Mitchell Graham, Siate Tokolahi, Taleni Seu, Michael Leitch, Brad Weber, Anton Lienert-Brown, Glen Fisiiahi

LIONS: 15: Andries Coetzee 14: Ruan Combrinck 13: Lionel Mapoe 12: Harold Vorster 11: Courtnal Skosan 10: Elton Jantjies 9: Faf de Klerk 8: Warren Whiteley 7: Warwick Tecklenburg 6: Jaco Kriel 5: Franco Mostert 4: Andries Ferreira 3: Julian Redelinghuys 2: Malcolm Marx 1: Dylan Smith

Reserves: Akker van der Merwe, Corné Fourie, Ruan Dreyer, Robert Kruger, Fabian Booysen, Jaco van der Walt, Howard Mnisi, Rohan Janse van Rensburg