Injuries force key changes for Stormers

Getty Images

Thursday, March 1, 2018    Getty Images

Leyds last played first five-eighths when the Stormers beat the Blues in Cape Town last year.

His place on the wing has been taken by South African Sevens star Seabelo Senatla while in the only other change from the side which lost in injury time to the Waratahs last weekend is EW Viljoen who has replaced the injured JJ Englebrecht.

JC Janse van Rensburg will start at loosehead prop with Steven Kitshoff coming off the bench. Cobus Wiese has been named on the blindside flanker where he will partner Siya Kolisi and Nizaam Carr.

Stormers head coach Robbie Fleck said his side were up for the game.

"The players are very excited about what we can achieve against the Crusaders this week. We certainly will not be holding back.

"It has been a good week of preparation and the mindset is that we are ready to rise to the challenge that the defending champions will present on their home turf," he said.

One area the Stormers will be looking to improve is their lineout throwing after they failed to control two throws late in the game.

Assistant coach, and former Blues assistant coach, Paul Feeney said the blame should not be directed at replacement hooker Dean Muir who made the throws, the second of which resulted in the Waratahs' match-winning try.

Feeney said the problem was not the throwing but the confusion between the lineout jumpers and their supports.

"Straight after the game, the forwards had a meeting and guys like Pieter-Steph du Toit were quite direct about what went wrong," Feeney told Netwerk 24.

"Dean threw two good darts…perfect, exactly where they needed to be. But unfortunately we had put substitute players on by then and the lifters and the jumpers just never co-ordinated properly. There was a misunderstanding. The forwards were very disappointed," he said.

The Stormers side is: 1.JC Janse van Rensburg, 2.Ramone Samuels, 3.Wilco Louw, 4.JD Schickerling, 5.Pieter-Steph du Toit, 6.Siya Kolisi (captain), 7.Cobus Wiese, 8.Nizaam Carr, 9.Dewaldt Duvenage, 10.Dillyn Leyds, 11.Raymond Rhule, 12.Damian de Allende, 13.EW Viljoen, 14.Seabelo Senatla, 15.SP Marais.